Parsing Artichokes

2 thoughts on “Parsing Artichokes”

  1. Dear Vic-
    What a beautiful presentation! As you know, I grew up in an artichoke eating family, and I love to see the baby ones appearing in the farmer’s market. The addition of olives looks wonderful.
    xo penny

  2. Victoria, I don’t see any stems in your photos! Though it it not widely known outside of Italy, you can attack artichoke stems with a vegetable peeler to remove the stringy outer layer, and then cook (or pressure cook) them with the rest. What remains is as flavorful and tender as the heart!

    I grew artichokes in my front yard in California (I had a wholly edible 15 square foot front garden) to get the stems but you might be able to talk an American farmer into giving you the stems. At the markets here in Italy they are sold from Autumn to Spring (during the winter, too) in large bouquets with the long, long stems and leaves still attached.

    Please share this information with your readers, artichoke stems need become “in” thing – just like the “re-discovery” of Zucchini flowers. As you know, Italians have been eating those all along, too (and I had a couple of zucchini plants growing in front of my artichokes so that I could deep fry the flowers in beer batter and eat them, too — butternut and spaghetti squash flowers are HEAVEN!!!)

    Oh.. my heart sank when I saw your photo of the artichoke heart with a little puddle of delicious olive oil on top.

    Beautiful!

    L

    hip pressure cooking
    making pressure cooking hip, one recipe at a time!

Leave a Reply

