Beef and Black Bean Chili

5 thoughts on “Beef and Black Bean Chili”

  1. We made the recipe similar to this in the Bold cook book. The meat is ground buffalo, and the black beans are done separately in a salsa with fresh corn. It was fun to share the cooking. I made the meat part and my husband did the salsa. We served it with sour cream and guacamole. Our guests ate it up.

  2. As the recipe suggested, I tried this on some friends for the Super Bowl and it got rave reviews. Didn’t have a pressure cooker so used 3 cans of drained black beans – somewhat over 3 cups. I prefer chili to not be very soupy so I used 4 cans of broth instead of 5. Ended up simmering for 1.5 hours – the low end of the recipe suggestion. With the 5th can of broth, I would have probably simmered for closer to 2 hours. Everyone wanted different levels of heat, so I added about 15 drops of Tabasco Smoked Chipotle Sauce to the main dish and then let people add more to their own. The smoky touch blended really well. Had leftovers for several days, and the flavor held up – maybe even increased. Another winner!

  3. Wow,man! Good,good,good. Easy to do and easy to eat(too much). I decided awhile back to cook the beans separately when making chili …the texture stays nicer. I made a double batch for super bowl,no problem. Two things..I used much more garlic than the recipe called for and in the list of ingredients. It says I yellow onion,but nothing about chopped coarse,minced or what. Of course that didn’t matter to me. Don’t know if that matters. I love this chili!! Keep on bloggin’ Oxxo A-ray Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

