Sea Scallops with Balsamic Vinegar Glaze

12 thoughts on “Sea Scallops with Balsamic Vinegar Glaze”

  1. You include Kosher salt in your recipie, yet You don’t mention anywhere in the article when or how to use it?

      1. Just made this recipie…….it was very good. I must say, personally it was a tad sweet for me. I couldn’t get tangerines so I used Clemintines. I think the Clemintine was sweeter than a tangerine would be. I’m going to try it again and try to find a tangerine and see if that makes a differance. I loved the taste of the balsamic tho.
        Thank you for sharing this.

  2. This looks delicious!

    I also firmly believe in getting great ingredients and then just getting out of the way.

    If you’re looking for another scallop recipe may I suggest Seared Sea Scallops on Bacon Polenta Topped with Chanterelles

    http://wp.me/puWta-gy

    It was out of this world. Great blog by the way!

  3. scallops turned out well, and i’ll use the glaze again. if you plan on including the recipe in a book, i might suggest you don’t refer to “Digby Bay” because the water you looked at is the Annapolis Basin…and Digby scallops are sea scallops, not the small and rather tasteless bay scallops.

    regards

    1. It wasn’t Annapolis Basin. It was actually the Digby dock on the Bay of Fundy, which we casually called Digby Bay. I agree bay scallops are pretty wimpy. What we got were sea scallops. Regards, Victoria

  4. I made this two nights in a row!I know such torture – scallops two nights in a row. Well, I had to test prior to having guests over. Great flavors -it was delicious. My children actually cooked the scallops the next evening for our guests. One fool proof recipe (the guests were so impressed!!)The bread basket was passed around so that not a trace of the syrup was left on the plate.

  5. this is my favorite recipe …i’m making it tonight with my 2 grown sons and hubby… can’t wait…..i love your site and am looking forward to your new book!!!! jeanhc

  6. Victoria,
    We are having another couple over to dinner this Saturday and couldn’t come up with what to cook. Your sea scallops sound like just the thing. You are a source. Didn’t know that was a scallop shell in the famous Botticelli painting.

    Deborah

  7. I live just a stone’s throw from where you watched the scallop boats landing their catch, so I will get some fresh scallops today and try this balsamic glaze. A nice website; glad to find it.

Leave a Reply

